It has you!

Your memory is a monster; you forget—it doesn’t. It simply files things away. It keeps things for you, or hides things from you—and summons them to your recall with will of its own. You think you have a memory; but it has you! John Irving

No, I in fact did not forget. I meant what I said: one quote a day. However, I’ve noticed it’s pretty hard to come up with anything when you’re having one of those blank mind days, where although you know it’s all up there waiting to be told, nothing really wants to come out. So, instead of writing what I intended to today – don’t worry though, it’s in the making, but I’d rather it doesn’t read like a fifth grader wrote it – I decided to simply pick a quote from one of my most dearly held authors: John Irving.

It’s from A Prayer for Owen Meany, which is probably one of the most magnificent, most magical books I’ve ever read. Stories like these are what inspires any of us to write. And writing is a very hard thing to keep up regularly, even though you try as best you can. On most days, it isn’t so hard – you just have to force yourself to sit down and think until you find your way around that story you’ve been dying to tell. But there’s something more. In fact, the man I talked about yesterday, King, once said:

A little talent is a good thing to have if you want to be a writer. But the only real requirement is the ability to remember every scar.

But on days like today? Honestly, it’s as if my mind’s denying me access to everything, including my most precious memories. There’s no scars, no extreme joy either, only loose associations that pretend to be deep thoughts. And although it doesn’t flatter me to admit any of this, I do it anyway, simply because we don’t have nearly as much control of and insight into our own minds as we’d like to have. So next time you think you’re in control, remember what Irving said: you may believe you have a memory … but really? Much like the Matrix: it has you.

Embedded image permalink

One thought on “It has you!

Leave a Reply

