Tick-tock, time’s up!

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by. – Douglas Adams

Ah yes, deadlines. And Douglas Adams. I don’t think there’s many writers who’ve ever made me laugh more. If you’ve made it through the introduction of The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy (you’re right, this isn’t a quote from that book) without wanting to read every single book he’s ever written, you must either really hate reading or … humor. But there’s a third option. You might simply not have any time on your hands – which is unfortunately where I’m going with this post.

Time is a horrible thing. You wake up one morning and suddenly it’s gone. You wonder where to. Yesterday, it seemed as if you still had forever, but suddenly months morph into weeks and weeks … let’s not go there. I love writing these posts. I may not have all that many readers, but that’s never kept me from putting in a great deal of effort. Sometimes, it takes me up to three hours to find, write and tweak one single entry, after which I feel so worn out and distracted, I barely know how to continue my 30.000 word (uch) thesis – don’t you just hate priorities?

Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now? – Douglas Adams

Thus, for now at least, I simply can’t keep up the one-post-a-day rhythm and am forced to reduce it to about one every three days. Hopefully, if time ever decides to be on my side again, I can go back to writing daily. Yes, I’ve always had a bit of a tendency to put way too much stuff on my plate, but still, I’d rather avoid choking on it. Whoosh. Did you hear that? Tick-tock, I really got to go but before I leave, promise me one thing: read something by Adams. Anything. You’ll love it. If you don’t … not even time can save you.

One thought on “Tick-tock, time’s up!

Leave a Reply

